On L.O.K.

on lockI’ve got this on lock” is a phrase often used by the younger and a lot cooler generation.  Being a public school teacher and a teen Sunday school teacher, I’m privy to a lot of the latest sayings.  However, “on lock” is a phrase that kind of intrigued me.  It sounds very reassuring if nothing else.  I actually looked up the definition on an online urban dictionary to have a clearer understanding (and to make sure my non-teenage self used it correctly.)  The definition is as follows:

on lock – to have a situation or person under control

For example, you may hear an individual say something like:  “You can’t ever go anywhere.  Your parents have you on lock.”

Interestingly, this phrase popped in my head one Sunday morning during the sermon.  The title of the sermon was “Destined to Be Great in God’s Kingdom.”  This had been an ongoing series, and on this particular Sunday the focus was on healing.  One of the scripture references was Exodus 15:26.

Exodus 15:26 – God said, “If you listen, listen obediently to how God tells you to live in his presence, obeying his commandments and keeping all his laws, then I won’t strike you with all the diseases that I inflicted on the Egyptians; I am God your healer.”

Naturally, this is from the Old Testament, and we’re under the dispensation of grace now.  However, this scripture really struck a chord with me because everyone deals with health issues either personally or within their family.  God wants us in hot pursuit of all His promises, but we have a stake in that as well.  Exodus 15:26 showed me in order to maintain and walk in the healing power that God is leading me to I have to get “on L.O.K.”  Let me explain.  Look at the scripture again.  It clearly says, If you    listen, listen obediently to how God tells you to live in his presence, obeying his commandments and keeping all his laws, then I won’t strike you with all the diseases that I inflicted on the Egyptians; I am God your healer.”

God is leading us to LISTEN – OBEY – KEEP God’s words – L.O.K.

Pursuing healing should be a continual venture so our lives can be a testimony to the greatness of our God.  A God that wants his people healed.  He sent his son Jesus who died a brutal death by way of crucifixion (thank God he rose again the third day) so we could be healed.  Allow God to grab you by the hand and lead you to what is rightfully yours. It’s time to get on L.O.K. and claim what belongs to us!

The following is evidence from God’s word that healing belongs to us:

Isaiah 53:6 – But he was pierced for our rebellion, crushed for our sins.  He was beaten so we could be whole.  He was whipped so we could be healed.

Prov. 3:24-26 – When you lie down, you won’t be afraid.  When you lie down, you will sleep soundly.  25 Don’t be terrified by sudden trouble.  Don’t be afraid when sinners are destroyed.  26 The Lord is the one you will trust in.  He will keep your feet from being caught in a trap.

Psalms 103:3-5 – He forgives all my sins and heals all my diseases.  4 He redeems me from death and crowns me with love and tender mercies.  5 He fills my life with good things.  My youth is renewed like the eagle’s!

Romans 8:11 – The Spirit of God, who raised Jesus from the dead, lives in you. And just as God raised Christ Jesus from the dead, he will give life to your mortal bodies by this same Spirit living within you.

For more faith building articles check out Signature Woman Magazine:  http://www.magcloud.com/browse/issue/591078

Leave a Reply

