Does It Take All That?

sweatThe other day as I scrolled through my Facebook news feed a picture caught my eye.  The picture showed a person wearing a soaking wet shirt after an intense work out.  First of all, that’s the kind of work out I need, but deep down really don’t want to do.  I applaud those that dedicate themselves to an intense exercise regimen.  It’s hard, painful, uncomfortable, and it takes commitment.  This particular individual exercises on a regular basis and has stuck with a particular routine for months.  What struck me as interesting was the fact that after exercising this long, they still poured sweat as if it was the first work out.  It just seems to me that after so many months of dedication to exercise and eating healthy that they should get a free pass.  It made me wonder why there isn’t ever a “max-out” point.  That point where you’ve shown such progress that you don’t have to sweat anymore or your workouts won’t be as painful.  It only seems fair, right?  I do realize this is unrealistic, but a girl can dream!

Looking at this picture didn’t inspire me to join a gym or to stop eating carbs, but it did teach me a nice little lesson.  If naturally we can’t “max-out” exercising and eating healthy, we certainly can’t spiritually.  I have to read my Bible, pray, and attend church like I did in the beginning.  I have to have an intense workout in the word of God on a regular basis.  Some days it will seem to be inconvenient, uncomfortable, and painful, but the end result will be a closer relationship with God.  I will have the wisdom to raise my kids the way God wants me to, be the wife God wants me to be, and to let my light shine wherever I go.  I want people to look at me and see a soaking wet shirt – the proof of an intense spiritual workout.

1 Timothy 4 MSG

8 Workouts in the gymnasium are useful, but a disciplined life in God is far more so, making you fit both today and forever.

Revelation 2 NIV

Yet I hold this against you: You have forsaken the love you had at first. Consider how far you have fallen! Repent and do the things you did at first.

 

 

Leave a Reply

