What’s Your View?

Two weeks ago was Election Day!  I was glad to see it come and go.  This year’s campaign had to be the worst I’ve ever seen.  When I say worst, I’m not referring to the candidates, but between people in general.  On both sides of the camps via commercials, social media, and general conversation, it got down right vicious.  I’m all for voting and feel it is my Christian duty, but the passion and intrigue I saw concerning the election made me wonder.

The reoccurring question I had was what if we were as passionate about leading people to Jesus Christ as we were getting people to vote like us?

  • Could you imagine receiving an automated call being invited to church?
  • What if you received encouraging flyers in the mail telling you how Christ will change your life?
  • While you’re watching TV, you were shown commercial after commercial about God’s grace and His life changing message?
  • My personal favorite:  What if while you were eating out or in line at Wal-Mart, you overheard conversations between people about all the things Christ has done for them?

This world would be a completely different place if more passion was redirected towards advancing the Kingdom.

As Christians, we are to approach the polls prayerfully.  I don’t believe we are to neither be mean nor intentionally cause debates between fellow believers or unbelievers.  To put it simply, we are to look like Christ in all we do.  Remember the kids are watching!

1 Timothy 2:1-2

I urge, then, first of all, that petitions, prayers, intercession and thanksgiving be made for all people— for kings and all those in authority, that we may live peaceful and quiet lives in all godliness and holiness.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Delonda Adams
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 19:41:29

    Amen now that is what I am talking about! Let’s direct our passion towards Christ! Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

