Uh Oh, She Hit a Pole

“Oooh, that had to hurt” is the phrase that went through my mind when my 5 1/2 year old ran into a pole.  She didn’t see it coming, but the impact would be felt minutes after.

After work one day, I needed to stop by Wal-Mart to pick up a few items.  I decided to allow my 5 year old to walk with me instead of riding in the buggy.  She will be 6 soon so I thought it might make her feel like a big girl.  Several times I had to say the usual, “Stop that!,” “Watch where you’re going!,”  “Don’t touch that!,”  “Catch up with me!”  She wasn’t being bad, but she wasn’t following my directions.  My nerves were a witness to this fact.  She continued to touch things, hop around, and just having an all around good time to my displeasure.  As the trip was coming to a close on the hardware aisle, she decided that walking backwards would be fun.  I saw the pole and I saw her.  BAAAMMM! She grabbed her head and did a little dance.  She didn’t cry, but I could tell she was startled and in pain.  My heart genuinely went out to her.

I immediately told her if she would have followed my directions and walked straight this wouldn’t have happened.  I’m not even sure if she realized what I was saying or even cared to realize what I was saying because her head was throbbing.

It occured to me obedience is better than sacrifice.

1 Samuel 15:22

Listen! Obedience is better than sacrifice,
    and submission is better than offering the fat of rams.

Can you believe that is a real scripture from the Bible?  It is so true.  Being obedient from the beginning of any situation would make everyone’s life so much easier.  I would much rather walk straight instead of trying out something new and different and hitting a pole.  We’re given warning signs all the time relating to different situations, but do we adhere to them?  We must remember that there are only two choices – obey or pay.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. DeLonda
    Nov 06, 2012 @ 22:06:43

    AMEN!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

