What’s Cooking in Your Kitchen?

There is not absolutely anything cooking in my kitchen most days.  When I do cook, I tend to use the crock pot.  Dump a meat and a few vegetables and dinner is done.  During my quiet time with the Lord, I realized I’m supposed to be doing a lot more in the kitchen.  In Hebrews 13, we’re given a nice little run down of things all Christians should be working on.  For a very clear picture read it from the Message Bible.  The verse that really stood out to me was the following:

16 Make sure you don’t take things for granted and go slack in working for the common good; share what you have with others. God takes particular pleasure in acts of worship—a different kind of “sacrifice”—that take place in kitchen and workplace and on the streets.

The last sentence really spoke to me.  Doing for others, be it a meal, financial, or encouragement, is also worshiping God.  This type of worship isn’t taught very often.  However, the bottom line is God expects me to do it.  It’s my job to read the word and then act upon it.  As a result, I now have two goals before this year comes to a close.

1)  Look for multiple ways to help others through service.  (Prayer is automatic, but God wants to see the tangible from time to time.)

2)  Let my children see me helping others and participate in helping others.

This is easier said than done with today’s culture, BUT God’s word is the same yesterday, today, and forever.  The culture may change, but His requirements of me aren’t changing anytime soon.  Why should they?  Everything written in the Bible is for my good.

Reading Hebrews 13 really opened my eyes to some things I need to work on in my life, which in turn, will carry over into my home and work life.  I’m excited about the legacy I will be able to leave my children and my children’s children, but it starts today.  Let’s go fire up the stove!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Delonda Adams
    Oct 31, 2012 @ 12:15:04

    This was a good read. Thanks so much for your transparency!

    Reply

  2. Crystal Green
    Nov 05, 2012 @ 10:52:53

    I agree that I also have to do more for my family and myself.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

