Girl, What Do You Have On?

A couple of days ago, I noticed a student bundled up with her jacket on as she walked down the hall.  As I looked, I realized she had on flip flops.  I thought to myself this is a brave child coming out in the cold with flip flops on.  I asked her did she have on flip flops because of it being warm in the afternoon.  With a confident grin, she looked at me and shook her head yes.  What an attitude!  This child was unmovable.  Yes, it was cold for the moment, but she knew it was going to warm up.  Nothing could stop her from enjoying the last few weeks of warm summer-like weather.  Unlike myself, I dress as if winter has already hit.  I check the weather daily knowing it’s going to be warm in the afternoon and still put on entirely too many clothes.  I typically base my attire on how I feel in the moment.  When I wake up in the morning, it is cold.  Cold is uncomfortable, and I don’t like being uncomfortable.  This student chose to base her attire on the weather condition later in the day.  She pressed her way through the difficult time because the end reward would be worth it.

How many times has God told us in His word, “Walk by faith not by sight,” “Trust Me,” “I will never leave you nor forsake you?”  Yet, knowing God’s word we still focus on the “right-now.”  I’m the first to admit that walking in faith isn’t always fun.  I want summer-like weather all the time not just in the afternoon, but that’s not realistic.  God created four seasons not one.  Although, fall yields cooler weather, there aren’t as many bugs, there is beautiful foliage to observe, and you can walk outside without pouring sweat.

This student helped me to realize I want to develop a similar outlook.  She was told it was going to be warm, and she held on until it manifested.

Ecclesiastes 7:8 (MSG)

Endings are better than beginnings.  Sticking to it is better than standing out.

Leave a Reply

