Your Child Can’t Suit Up If You Don’t!

Up until just recently, I really struggled with “finding” the time to get alone with God.  I would wake up and say, “Oh, I’m running late. I’ll do it tonight.”  Then that night, “Oh, I’m so tired.  I will do it in the morning.”  This cycle would continue for a couple of days.  I would wake up on Friday and realize I hadn’t spent time with God all week.  How sad!  I tell God I love You and praise You, but I can’t spend time with You – sorry!  But when I did settle down to spend time with God, all kind of things would run through my head – the laundry is piling up, look at the clutter under the couch, did I make the doctors appointment for the girls,  did I pay the mortgage?  So, I pose the question to you that I posed to myself – how often do you spend quality time with your heavenly father?  Some people refe
r to it as daily devotion, quiet time, personal bible study, and etc.  Regardless what you call it, the most important thing is that it is actually happening in your life.

1 Timothy 4

…Teach believers with your life: by word, by demeanor, by love, by faith, by integrity. Stay at your post reading Scripture, giving counsel, teaching. And that special gift of ministry you were given when the leaders of the church laid hands on you and prayed—keep that dusted off and in use.

1.  Teach with your life.

2.  Stay at your post reading scripture.

According to scripture, we’re supposed to teach with our life, and we learn what we’re supposed to teach with our life by reading the scriptures.  Honestly, all this sounds nice, but it can be difficult to get into the word daily.  Oh, and if you’re a mom, it can be real difficult.

So why is it so easy to go from dawn to dusk without spending time with God?

First, we serve such a  gracious father.  We know in the back of our head he is forgiving and of course he understands.

Second, we judge ourselves on our intentions and others on their actions.

We meant to spend time with God; so in our minds it counts, right?!?  It’s needless to say it is important to spend time with God in addition to attending church.  The very act sustains our relationship with Christ.  In doing so, we learn more about the Word.  Once we begin to take our daily devotion seriously, it will carry over into our children’s lives.

How can we prepare them for battle, and we’re not suited up ourselves?

Ephesians 6:10-12

…God is strong, and he wants you strong. So take everything the Master has set out for you, well-made weapons of the best materials. And put them to use so you will be able to stand up to everything the Devil throws your way. This is no afternoon athletic contest that we’ll walk away from and forget about in a couple of hours. This is for keeps, a life-or-death fight to the finish against the Devil and all his angels.

In April, I made a firm decision to spend time with God everyday, and I’m not slacking up!  It’s like my morning coffee.  You don’t want to see me without it!

Leave a Reply

