No One Likes a Copycat!

As I look at this 2012-2013 school year whizzing by, it is unbelievable!  Just yesterday in my school district, we reached the halfway point of the first quarter.  With every drop of a fall leaf, I can see the newness of a new school year wearing off.  The desire to stay under the covers a little longer increases more and more for teachers and students.  But with the passing of a school year, you begin to notice your child’s strengths and weaknesses.

For example, my five year old’s strength is that she is like a sponge.  She can remember the smallest of details making learning new information somewhat easy.  However, her weakness is talking – NON-STOP!  (SN: This is why you should always pray for your children’s teachers.)

As a teacher and a parent, her non-stop talking frustrates me.  A child that talks a lot can be really distracting to the class and to the teacher.  I know this all too well.  As a parent, having this knowledge makes it real tempting “to wish…”

“I wish my child was quiet like Susie, yet get along with everyone like Tom, but cooperative like Sally, and can count to 1001 like Fred.  If she could sing like Mary, that would also be great.  Oh, and it wouldn’t hurt, if she could dance like Ann.  The list can go on an on.”

If I fall into this type of temptation, I’m not allowing my children to be themselves to develop and grow in a healthy way not a paranoid “I-can-never-please-mama” kind of way.

Look at what the Bible says about this:

Galatians 5:25-26 MSG

…we will not compare ourselves with each other as if one of us were better and another worse. We have far more interesting things to do with our lives. Each of us is an original.

God doesn’t want me comparing my children to anyone else nor do I need to compare myself to anyone else.  I’m blessed to have the only two Miller girls around.  I was blessed with the originals!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DeLonda
    Sep 25, 2012 @ 20:04:22

    Amen Crystal because the Bible even go as far to say when we compare ourselves it makes us unwise. Thanks for your wisdom 🙂

    Reply

  2. Catherine Redfearn
    Sep 25, 2012 @ 21:37:23

    Oh how I love this. So true.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

