Are You a Thumb-sucker?

My baby girl is an avid thumb sucker.  She could do it professionally and make a fortune.  Her birth was somewhat traumatic so I attribute her thumb sucking to her premature birth (another story testimony for another day).  Anyway, there is a common rule among thumb suckers.  While sucking your thumb, your other hand has to be doing something simultaneously.  In my baby girl’s case, as the right thumb is inserted in mouth, left hand pulls up shirt and plays with belly button while sucking the thumb.  It happens automatically without fail. It’s almost like an automatic reflex.  (You can imagine the sight when she is wearing a dress, but that doesn’t bother her at all.)

I’ve talked to other parents of thumb suckers and they all have the same story.  I’ve heard instances of children who rub their ears, their chest, their nose, and even other people’s ears .  I had no idea!  It makes me think of one of the laws of motion:

“For every action there is an equal and opposite reaction.” ~Sir Isaac Newton

As I thought on my child’s thumb sucking/belly button rubbing, and how she won’t stop regardless of what lengths we go to, I couldn’t help but connect it to my walk with God.  Every time I have an issue, a hurt, a disappointment, a failure and so on, do I automatically turn to my heavenly father or do I seek counsel elsewhere, complain, have a pity party?  I know the right thing to do, but do I do it?

The Bible says:

“Come near to God and he will come near to you.”  James 4:8

Just like my daughter goes straight for her belly button without even realizing it, I should run straight into the arms of Jesus.  As I get closer to him, He is going to get closer to me.  I have His word on it.  If I could make this a natural reaction during hard times, I probably would experience a lot less frustrations.

Wow, I could learn a lot from thumb suckers!

P.S.  Please feel free to share any thumb sucker stories! 🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. andrea
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 11:48:21

    Have you heard of Thumbuddy To Love? Great product to wean gently from thumb sucking…google it or get it on Amazon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

