Not Good Enough?!?!

I was listening to a radio broadcast discussing depression from the Christian perspective (the link is below).  Two things jumped out at me: 1) More women than men are clinically depressed and 2) Feeling inadequate can lead to depression.  A couple of the areas of inadequacy addressed concerning women were in the area of body image (looks and size), professional/careers, goals achieved, etc.  Inadequate – really?  I had never thought of it, but I completely could understand.  As I listened, I was able to relate to what the speakers were saying way too much for my liking.  There are so many areas I feel inadequate and wasn’t aware of it (or either didn’t realize that’s what it was.)

Inadequate basically means not good enough, not measuring up, insufficient, etc.

One definition actually used the word DEFECTIVE.  When I hear that word, I think of electronics.  No one wants a defective electronic in their home.  It’s useless or will eventually become useless.

I am convinced that inadequacy is used by the devil to turn our focus off of our relationship with Christ and telling others about Him.  The devil will use whatever to distract us including ourselves.

SO WHERE DO I GO FROM HERE?

Feel inadequate no longer!

Proverbs 21:31

The horse is prepared for the day of battle,
    but the victory belongs to the Lord.

Regardless what we are capable of, the victory belongs to the Lord.

~Want to be a good parent – your victory is in the Lord!

~Want to lose weight – your victory is in the Lord!

~Want to be a better person – your victory is in the Lord!

Don’t waste another minute looking in the mirror finding all your faults and flaws. It’s just a distraction. Claim your victory and march on!

Confess

Isaiah 41:10 

Don’t be afraid, for I am with you.  Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you and help you.
    I will hold you up with my victorious right hand.

Phil. 4:13

For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength.

The link to the broadcast:  http://media.focusonthefamily.com/fotf/mp3/fof_daily_broadcast/ffd_2012/1_jan_feb_march/ffd_20120307.mp3

Leave a Reply

