Put ’em in the Chokehold

I often remind my girls not to put stuff around their neck. It’s hard to get them to understand it could get tangled and they choke.  I’m not sure why children love to wrap things around their neck, but in my girls’ case it’s almost like a natural response to anything that is “wrappable.”  I’ve had to tie up the blind cords, take belts away from them, keep them away from the vacuum cleaner cord, and any thing with length because sure enough it immediately goes around the neck.  I think any halfway decent parent does the same thing.  Who wants to lose or see their child hurt?

But there is one thing they should put around their neck,

Proverbs 6:20-21

My son, obey your father’s commands,
and don’t neglect your mother’s instruction.
Keep their words always in your heart.
Tie them around your neck.

The Bible says our children should be tying their father’s commands and their mother’s instructions around their necks.  After reading this, I had to take a moment to self assess.  Am I (and my husband) giving my girls something they can “tie around their neck?” Are we providing something of substance for them to draw from for the rest of their life?  These are serious questions to consider on a daily basis.

We’ve got to give them something to wrap around their necks!

Leave a Reply

