Peeping Tom?

Facebook, Facebook, Facebook!  Since joining the acclaimed site almost three years ago, I have been in touch with more people than I could ever imagine.  I’ve seen friends’ children born, grow up, and even start school. I’ve read about friends who have lost precious loved ones.  I too have shared things that mean a lot to me. I think we would all agree that Facebook is a window to the soul of sorts.

With the new burst of social media, people put their lives on display.  I’ve read posts about how much a person loves God, and a couple of hours they’ll do or say  something that I don’t think a Christian should say or do.  I don’t judge because taking care of myself is a full time job.  What I do care about are individual’s eternal homes.  Everyone, according to the Bible, is going to spend eternity in Heaven or Hell.  So what puts us in one place or the other?  Of course the first thing is having Jesus in our heart, but is that all it takes?  Shouldn’t we have to live a lifestyle that corresponds with Jesus?  Can I really ask Jesus into my heart and then talk and live any kind of way?  That was the question I had for God one day when I couldn’t shake my confusion.  I hear so much of “don’t judge” and “God is love” that I had to really stop and think.

So, the question was “can people live any kind of way as Christians?”  This was the response I received:

2 Corinthians 5:17

17 This means that anyone who belongs to Christ has become a new person. The old life is gone; a new life has begun!

As soon as I was reminded of that scripture, it was crystal-clear.  Anything I did in my old life shouldn’t be occurring in my “new life.”  There should be some type of visible difference because old habits are gone and have been replaced with “Christ-like” habits.  I’m very literal.  As a result, when I read this scripture I tell myself if my new life looks just like my old life than I probably need to question my Jesus status.

My goal is for you to look into my “window” be it through social media or actual interaction and see a new individual that is Christ-like and not me-like.  I’m continuously working on myself, but my goal is to never do or say anything that will make someone stop and say – “I thought she was a Christian!”

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Connie
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 19:27:19

    I really like this!!!! Very true!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

