WAKE UP!!!

A Kool-Aid Jammer was all it took to get her in the bed. My oldest child can come up with the most reasons why she doesn’t need to go to bed (or stay in there.)  It was one of those nights I just wanted her to go to bed and stay there.  It occurred to her she hadn’t finished her Kool-Aid Jammer at supper time, and in her mind the night couldn’t go on if that task wasn’t completed.  Unfortunately, I had to break the news to her that Daddy had thrown the remainder of it away.  To keep from spending the next ten minutes watching one of her I-can’t-believe-you-guys-would-do-that-to-me breakdowns, I immediately told her she could have one in the morning.  (side note: This is my strong willed child.  If you don’t know what that is, Google it and you’ll understand my reasoning.)  Anyway, knowing she could have one first thing in the morning sent her right to bed!  And yes, I was completely content with the bribe.

First thing the next morning, I heard her talking about that promised Kool-Aid Jammer she was getting.  I was blown away at the fact that she was still betting on that.  I assumed she would forget, but it showed me two things:

1)  Don’t make a promise you can’t keep.

2)  I need to feel that way about God’s promises that are laid out in HIS word.

The Bible says in Psalms 30:5

Weeping may last for a night, 
   but joy comes in the morning.

If you’re having a struggle, go to sleep peacefully, and just like my child wake up excited about what you’ve been promised – JOY!

Wake up joy is here!

Leave a Reply

