Fire Drill

It’s Wednesday night, church night, and here I sit.  My child had a low grade fever so she and I stayed home (tear).  I LOVE church and can about count on one hand how many times I’ve missed in the past 15 years of my life.  It’s my staying power!  I couldn’t make it without a good church home to receive the word, and I’m trying to raise my girls the same way.  Sadly, through observation, I’ve noticed that the Christian body has gotten somewhat lackadaisical towards the things of God.  If I didn’t know better, it would be almost as if we think we’re doing God a favor by showing up to church.  Anything extra such as Wednesday night or Sunday School is going to cost Him something.  I have to often remind myself what all God has done for me!  For that alone, I should be the first one at the door every service.

Just last week, I had an experience that really made me think.  At the school where I teach, we had a good ‘ole fashion fire drill.  If you’ve attended public school in the last 40 years, I’m sure you’ve experienced one.  The purpose of said drills is so we will know what to do in the event there is a fire.  Personally, I am not aware of any schools that have burned down, but without fail we perform the drill monthly -faithfully

The drill occurred at the conclusion of my planning period, and I had to track down my kids who were with the art teacher.  As I walked through the deserted hallways all I could think was, “Wow, this is how fast Jesus is going to return!  Am I ready?”  That is a powerful thought.   Typically, the drills occur around the same time each month, but this month my principal decided to shake it up a bit.  He had the drill during a transition time.  It was very smart on his end because a fire doesn’t restrict itself to a particular hour.  He wanted to make sure we knew what to do in the event students are moving within the building and a fire happens upon us.

So, let me present you with the question I presented myself with – Are You Ready?!?!  If Jesus returned in 5 minutes, are you 100% sure you would go with Him?  Let me answer first.  Yes, I am ready- not because I teach Sunday School, go to church, or don’t “cuss” or drink.  Simply because I have Jesus in my heart.  Those other things I do out of my love for Him.

I would like to encourage everyone to do a regular “fire drill” to ensure that when Jesus returns we all bust out of this joint together.  For the Bible says in 1 Thessalonians 5:2 “For you know quite well that the day of the Lord’s return will come unexpectedly, like a thief in the night.”  Are you ready?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. catherine redfearn
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 23:58:08

    I like the example you gave. Its great to know we have JESUS in our heart and that we are ready when he comes back.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

