Jewelry Box or a Trash Can

 

“What’s a snake hiding in the garden?  What is between God and the devil?  What is evil?”  These are all questions I was asked by my 5 year old as one of my favorie songs played on the radio. 

This particular night I allowed her to attend a service where my father was speaking. (My two year old isn’t quite ready for quiet services yet so it was just Kennedy and me.)  Anyway, while on the way home, this song came on.  The questions she was asking were directly from the lyrics.  She genuinely wanted to know what they meant.  I gave her the best responses I could muster:

What’s a snake hiding in the garden?  The devil pretended to be snake to get Eve in trouble.

What is between God and the devil?  God wants us to be good, and the devil tries to get us to be bad.

What is evil? When we do bad stuff.

This was one of those moments I realized my baby is growing up.  My husband and I are smack dab in the middle of those “shaping years.”  Prior to this conversation, my biggest fear had been Kennedy “pooting” (passing gas), and the sound reverberating off the wooden pews during the service.  (I thought it was a valid concern as any parent of a toddler would agree!)

Little did I know that I need to be more concerned and always ready to answer questions at the drop of a hat.  What if I would have been listening to music that focuses on sex, violence, or some other inappropriate topic?  Kennedy still would have asked me questions about those lyrics, and in the words of Ricky Ricardo I would have had “some ‘xplaining to do.”  I know those type questions are coming, but it won’t be because I opened the door for them.

My children, myself, and you are jewelry boxes not trash cans.  Are we filling ourselves with valuable items or with stinky, smelly trash? I choose to place valuable things in myself, and while I still have control, valuable things in my children.  As the old song goes, “Be careful little eyes what you see and be careful little ears what you hear.”

Matthew 19:14 But Jesus said, “Let the children come to me. Don’t stop them! For the Kingdom of Heaven belongs to those who are like these children.”

Leave a Reply

