Running With Purpose

Friday, December 23, 2011 someone one was stabbed, another shot, and many arrested.  What for, you may be wondering?  Well, as I watched it play out on the news, I couldn’t believe what I was seeing.  Throngs of people running through the malls.  Throughout the country, people were trampled, and in some cases doors were ripped off their hinges.  It wasn’t Black Friday.  It was the new release of Air Jordan’s – a $180 pair of tennis shoes.  My personal views see a lot wrong with this picture.  Two things stand out.  First, people would line up, wait, and risk their lives for a pair of shoes.  Second, the shoes cost the equivalent of a small used car payment.  As far as I know, you don’t receive a personal call from Michael Jordan thanking you for participating in him maintaining his billionaire status, but I could be wrong.

There was one positive I noticed though while watching the various news clips play from around the country.  These people had purpose.  They had their mind set, and was willing to risk life and limb to fulfill their purpose.

Several years ago, I went to my local park to go walking because running has always seemed so boring to me, and I always gave out way too early.  So, I just resigned to walking.  On this particular day, I was walking, and a guy came up behind me.  I didn’t want to freak out because I was in a secluded area so I kept my same pace.  He caught up with me and begin to ask a lot of questions.  I tried to give vague responses.  After a while, I said bye and took off running.  I ran all the way to my car and didn’t give out once.  I was running with purpose.  I didn’t know this guy’s intentions and my purpose was to not stick around long enough to find out.

Whenever there is purpose behind any situation, nothing or no one can stop you.

What is your purpose for 2012?  Happy New Year!

Ecclesiastes 3:20 – Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. catherine redfearn
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 22:32:28

    Great comparison. We must run and stay focused on the word of God.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

