BASIC TRAINING?

The past few weeks I’ve had some “parenting issues.”  I really thought parenting would be a lot easier than what it is.  I should’ve known better, but the alternative would be raising robots, and that is not what I want to do.  Long story short, my 4 and 2 year old keep us going.  It probably gets to me a lot more than it should, but hey, I’m a mother.  I’ve got stories that would last for days involving my children.  I asked my best friend once what in the world did we do before we had kids.  Her reply was priceless – “We were bored and just didn’t know it.”  That is about the best way to describe it.  Don’t get me wrong.  I love being a mama on most days.  My girls make life interesting if nothing else.

One day, I was updating a fellow parent of toddlers of my latest parenting adventures.  I followed the story with – I thought it would be so much easier than this.  I was ready for this parent to chime in with their horror stories and agree with me, but that is not what happened.  His response consisted of few words, but were full of wisdom.  Not even looking at me, he calmly responded with, “Yea, they’re in training.”  I knew immediately where he was going with his comment.

Proverbs 22:6 (NKJV)

 Train up a child in the way he should go,
And when he is old he will not depart from it.

This parent was exactly right.  My children are in training.  Based on the above scripture, I realize children aren’t supposed to be perfect, and it is foolish of me to think otherwise.  Every training I’ve ever been to, the goal is to leave with more knowledge than I went in with.  That being the case, my children should grow up knowing things they couldn’t have possibly learned on their own.

So now when I get frustrated, I remind myself that they’re in training under my care.  Simple words can be so deep.

Below is the same scripture from other versions of the Bible:

(NLT) Direct your children onto the right path, and when they are older, they will not leave it.

(MSG)  Point your kids in the right direction— when they’re old they won’t be lost.

(AMP) Train up a child in the way he should go [and in keeping with his individual gift or bent], and when he is old he will not depart from it.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. supermomdel
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 10:02:26

    Thank you for the reminder. I was just telling my husband how frusturating it is to say the same thing over and over and over and over and over… I think you get it! Now, I can remind myself the kids and me are in training! 🙂 love this post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

