Biggest Loser

The Biggest Loser is not my favorite show, but I admire the show’s purpose.  The premise of the show is to get people who want to lose weight together and work on achieving their common goal.

The phrase “biggest loser” has a completely different meaning to me.  There are some days I just feel like a “big loser.”  It boils down to me feeling like I’m not meeting my goals in my marriage, as a parent, or even on my job.  I become consumed with an overwhelming feeling of how nothing seems to be working out.  Then frustration begins to set in.  The voices began to play in my head, “Just quit!” “You’ll never measure up – why try?” “You’re a big loser!”

I have literally dedicated hours to entertaining those voices over the course of my life.  Well, I decide today – ENOUGH is ENOUGH!  Evidently, I’m not a loser or God wouldn’t have placed me in the position of wife, mother, and teacher.  I’m learning that a major part of growing up is enduring.

*en·dur·ing:to undergo (as a hardship) especially without giving in*

I’m going to have to push through the voices and STAND TALL.  When the devil speaks (which is the one providing the negative voices), I’m going to speak back.

Proverbs 18:14 The human spirit can endure a sick body,
      but who can bear a crushed spirit?

James 1:12 God blesses those who patiently endure testing and temptation. Afterward they will receive the crown of life that God has promised to those who love him.

For every “You’re a loser!”  I’m coming back with “I’m MORE THAN a CONQUEROR!” (Rom. 8:37)  With every “Just quit!”  I’m coming with, “I will FINISH STRONG!” (2 Tim. 4:7)  When I hear, “You’ll never measure up.”  My response will be, “I don’t have to measure up because God does.” (Psa. 138:8)  In the words of Jamie Grace, “I feel the weight slowly liftin’ as [God] closes the distance, and I know it’ s going to be okay.”

Thank you God for being my everything and turning my big losses into even bigger victories.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Yolana Lewis
    Oct 27, 2011 @ 23:28:40

    I thank God for blessing you with such an awesome talent. I realy needed those words of encouragement.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

