Say the Name!

 

Motherhood has been an interesting journey for me.  Raising my two girls is by far the most difficult undertaking ever.  With that being said, I sure hope there are other moms out there that have to repeat themselves when making requests.

There are times I feel I ask my girls to do the same thing a million times.  It’s frustrating and EXTREMELY exhausting.  The funny thing is I’m the frustrated and exhausted one.  I know what you’re thinking because I used to think it myself prior to having children and hearing parents discuss their children – just spank their little tail.  I wish it were that easy.  My day would consist only of tail spanking if I spanked every time I had to repeat myself.  I have found something else that works though.   When they’re in one of their mamas-going-to-have-to-repeat herself moods, I simply say, “Julius!” (if he is there or not.)  Surprisingly, calling Daddy’s name works!  My little girlies get to moving.  It’s quite a sight.

The world may never know why a daddy can say something it takes a mama 15 times to say, but it works.  He can be on the computer in the living room not once looking up and say, “Do it now!” and they move!

This week has been no exception to this occurrence, which made me think of a song sung at our church titled “Say the Name” by Martha Munizzi.  It says, “Say the name of Jesus, Say the name of Jesus, When you don’t know what else to say, Say the name.”  It’s a beautiful song that reminds me when I’m in a fix and feel the frustration and exhaustion from life stacking up, just like I say Julius for rescue from my girls, I need to say, “Jesus” for rescue from the pressures of life.

So when you don’t know what else to say – Say the name – JESUS!

*1 John 2:1 –  But if anyone does sin, we have an advocate who pleads our case before the Father. He is Jesus Christ, the one who is truly righteous.

*Phil. 2:10-11 – that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth,  and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.

*Matt. 28:18Jesus came and told his disciples, “I have been given all authority in heaven and on earth.

*John 17:3 – And this is the way to have eternal life—to know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ, the one you sent to earth.

Leave a Reply

