Hey You…I’m Into Jesus!

My baby girl’s favorite song is “I’m Into Jesus” by DC Talk, but she LOVES the Jamie Grace version.  The chorus says “Hey you…I’m into Jesus.”  She walks around the house singing the chorus and asking to hear the song.  I never knew how much that chorus rang true until last weekend.  All my life I’ve heard my dad (who is also my pastor) always say staying with Jesus is the only way to go.  I knew it was true for me, but evidently it’s true for everyone.

Recently, I ran into a former family friend that I haven’t seen in 20 years.   We were both delighted to see each other, spoke briefly, and went our separate ways.  Their image stuck with me for several days.   They appeared broken and sad.   Seeing them in this state made me sad because I know “broken and sad” isn’t God’s best.  God’s best is for us to be healthy, happy, and jovial.  I pondered on the encounter for a while and wondered how their life would’ve been different if they would’ve stayed connected to a church (not necessarily my church, but any church where the word of God is being ministered.)

I realized my dad was right.  Jesus is the lifeline, and if I’m not “into Jesus” there really is no reason for me to even exist.  Quality of life centers around my relationship with God.  All this time my baby had been preaching to me every time she sang, “Hey you, I’m into Jesus, Hey you.”

Ephesians 20-21:

God can do anything, you know—far more than you could ever imagine or guess or request in your wildest dreams! He does it not by pushing us around but by working within us, his Spirit deeply and gently within us.

Leave a Reply

