Happy New Year!!!

I’m a school teacher by profession, and as a result, the beginning of a school year for me is the equivalent of New Year’s Day to most people.  It is an opportunity to move past the previous year embracing what was learned all the while looking ahead to what is to come – new little faces, friends, experiences, etc.  This school year will come with its batch of stories like every other year.  Most will make me laugh and some may make me cry.

Excitingly though, this is also a time for me to assess changes I would like to make, a resolution if you will.  As a teacher, what can I do better this year?  What should I do differently?  The list is endless.  As parents, aunts, uncles, grandparents, I think we hope all teachers feel this way.  Actually, I hope all people feel this way.  What can you do better in your relationship and service to the Lord?  What can you do differently to enhance your spiritual walk?  Again, the list is endless.

James 2:19-20 (The Message Bible) reads:

19-20Do I hear you professing to believe in the one and only God, but then observe you complacently sitting back as if you had done something wonderful? That’s just great. Demons do that, but what good does it do them? Use your heads! Do you suppose for a minute that you can cut faith and works in two and not end up with a corpse on your hands?

I realize it is so easy for me to talk the Christian talk, but am I showing God through my works and service unto Him I want to make a difference?  Verse 18 says faith and works go together like hand in glove.  What a great analogy!

Take a moment to assess how you can do more for the Lord in your personal, family, and church life.  Join me and use this time of year to make a resolution to make a difference for the Lord!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Bethany
    Aug 15, 2011 @ 18:12:08

    Very good!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

