Turn the LIGHT on!

One late evening my family and I arrived home.  I told my husband to toss me his keys and I’ll go ahead and unlock the door for us.  His key ring consist of what seems to be hundreds of keys even though that isn’t the case.  So of course, due to the amount of keys and not having the porch light on, I struggled finding the house key.  Tired of watching me fumble he took over the hunt.  With two girls in tow this wasn’t an easy task for either one of us.  After a minute or two, he whipped out his cell phone.  Naturally, I’m thinking this isn’t the time or place.  Then it occurs to me as he is hitting a button on his phone what he is doing.  He was turning the light onOnce the phone lit up, it was a matter of seconds before he located the house key.  Why did we put ourselves through all of that when all we had to do was turn the light on?  Thank God it occurred to him because I could still be on the porch searching for that key.

My life is the same way.  I’m supposed to turn my light on so others can find what they’re looking for which is Jesus Christ.  If my light is on consistently, I should light up every environment I find myself.  Unfortunately, that isn’t always the case.  Sometimes a bad day or a stressful situation can cause me to turn my light off.  When that happens, I’m no good to anyone.

Matthew 5:14 & 16 – You are the light of the world…Let your light shine before others!

This is a big job, but someone has to do it.  I thank God for all the men and women in my life who put their cares behind them and let their light shine anyway so my life could be changed.  As a result of their light spilling over into my dark world, I can say Heaven is my eternal home.  Now it’s my responsibility to turn my light on (and keep it on)!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Crystal Stamey
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 17:56:37

    Crystal,
    I love this illustration….so needful during this time. Thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

