Don’t Stop Them!

As I drove my 4 and 2 year old to school last week, I told my oldest to pray that they have a good day.  Immediately after that, my 2 year old also wanted to pray.  I felt it would be awful to neglect her that right so I told her to pray for the day as well.  Naturally, she struggled, but it didn’t take long for her big sister to step in and help her out.  She had her repeat after her the following prayer:

“Thank you Jesus for Mommy, Daddy, my sister, and Miss Jessica and Miss Toria! Amen!”

I was amazed that my 4 year old could lead her sister in prayer.  All I could think was, “Thank you, God, something is sinking in to my children.”  The following verse came to mind as I pondered on all of this

Matthew 19:14 (NLT)

14 But Jesus said, “Let the children come to me. Don’t stop them! For the Kingdom of Heaven belongs to those who are like these children.”

As Mom, it’s my job to continuously lead my children to Jesus.  The Lord has given me a specific commandment not to stop them from coming to Him.  Along with that though, it is also my job to show them where Jesus can be found – their heart, church, and anywhere else they need for Him to be.  It is my husband’s and my primary job to make sure they have every opportunity to develop and nurture their relationship with Christ.  My goal is for them to be able to grow up with that knowledge and in turn raise my future grandchildren the same way.


2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Patricia Evans
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 20:01:31

    Praise God…..little children pay attention to so much & you are a blessing to be teaching them @ God rather than allowing the world to teach them. May God bless you a hundredfold for all the seeds you plant in the lives of so many children….don’t stop them keep opening the door for them…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

