Going Green…

“Going Green” is the new catch phrase going around.  The goal is to encourage people to began to reduce, reuse, and recycle.  I automatically know if I hear the phrase I am to assume whatever is being discussed is better for the environment.  This phrase came to mind the other day as I was walking from my car to the front door of my house.  There was a branch in the yard from a pine tree.  As I moved it out to a pile of other limbs and branches that were blown into the yard from a storm, I noticed it looked different from the first time I had noticed it.  A few days prior the needles on that limb were green even though it wasn’t connected to the tree.  As I was moving it, I noticed the needles were now brown (that dead looking shade of brown.)  I immediately wondered how long it took for the needles to go from that pretty shade of green to brown.  Was it days or even hours?  I wish I would’ve kept track of the slow death.  This verse rang in my head:

John 15:5 The Message (MSG)

 5-8“I am the Vine, you are the branches. When you’re joined with me and I with you, the relation intimate and organic, the harvest is sure to be abundant. Separated, you can’t produce a thing. Anyone who separates from me is deadwood, gathered up and thrown on the bonfire. But if you make yourselves at home with me and my words are at home in you, you can be sure that whatever you ask will be listened to and acted upon. This is how my Father shows who he is—when you produce grapes, when you mature as my disciples.

Simply put, connected to God – I am ALIVE.  Apart from Him – I am DEADWOOD.  It might not be an immediate change, but overtime like the branch in my yard disconnected from God, I will eventually become brown.

So ponder this – “Once Saved Always Saved?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Crystal Stamey
    Jul 21, 2011 @ 12:04:58

    WOW!!! I really enjoyed reading todays post. Lord help me to stay connected to Jesus!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

