How Much Do You Tip?

I love to go out to eat!  Dining out could possibly be considered an American past time at least in my book anyway.   It’s not just the food I enjoy, but also the fellowship with family, friends, co-workers, etc.  But if there is one thing I don’t care for, it is bad service.  I think everyone has experienced this before.  Maybe the food isn’t up to par or the waiter/waitress doesn’t seem to care.  The list goes on and on.  I think I’ve witnessed more people upset with a terrible server than when the food isn’t that great.

Just recently, my husband and I went out on a lunch date.  Our server was not the greatest.  He took forever to bring our drinks, and he brought us the wrong soup.  When it was finally time to pay, it took him what seemed to us forever to bring the check.  It lit a fire under my husband who never gets upset about anything.  The bottom line was this guy wasn’t being very attentive to us.  As my husband exited the restaurant the hostess asked how everything was.  He informed her of the bad service and how disappointed he was.  She attempted to offer him a gift card for his trouble, but he politely declined.

I’m sure we all have similar “server stories.”  One day I had a revelation of how the Lord must feel.  So many Christians (myself included) profess “I serve the Lord.”  Do I really serve the Lord or am I the equivalent of a slack waitress non-deserving of a tip?  To me, a good server is right there with a smile on their face every time I need them to refill my drink or bring me something.  They never complain and are always willing to go the extra mile.  A good server is one you want to leave a really nice tip.

My job as a Christian is to be attentive to what the Lord has placed me on this earth to do.  Am I walking around doing my own thing expecting a nice tip when it’s all said and done?

Joshua 24:15

New Living Translation (NLT)

15 But if you refuse to serve the Lord, then choose today whom you will serve. Would you prefer the gods your ancestors served beyond the Euphrates? Or will it be the gods of the Amorites in whose land you now live? But as for me and my family, we will serve the Lord.”

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. militarywifetheology101
    Jul 22, 2011 @ 14:11:20

    Excellent… very well put! I am posting on my FB page.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

