…And Then There Were Flies

and then there were fliesI despise flies. They are annoying and disgusting creatures that I forgot about until Sunday. Yes, they are back, and I’ve seen two in my house since then. I’ve been so focused on the return of Spring with its warmth and promise of rebirth that I completely forgot about the flies and ants that comes along with it. It’s not like I’ve never experienced Spring because I have every year. So why didn’t the aggravation of flies also enter my thought process as the approach of Spring excited me? I realize the good out weighs the bad. I would much rather wear flip flops and sandals than boots and socks just to avoid insects. I would rather have to roll my car window down occasionally this summer to let a fly out than to have be bundled up in a coat and scarf all year long.

As I looked at that aggravating fly that I didn’t even bother to stalk at that moment, I realized in every season of life there are some “unpleasantries” that will come along with it. The great news is it’s nothing I can’t handle. Who can’t handle a fly or an ant regardless of how aggravating they are? So why should I let simple aggravations get me down when I approach a new season?

Spring is beautiful as is the other three seasons in their entirety. Each season brings wonderful thoughts, memories, and traditions for me. Spring is when we celebrate the shedding of coats, and, more importantly, Jesus shedding the grave. Summer means vacations and time spent with friends and family without restraint. Fall brings the thrill of holidays, hot meals, and early bedtimes. Winter reminds us of the building excitement that Christmas, the birth of our Savior, is on the horizon. Then, we begin again! How exciting that God knew enough of humans that we would need constant change to forget our constant complaints. In my case, FLIES!

John 16:33
…Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world.”

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Catherine redfearn
    Apr 03, 2013 @ 22:26:49

    This is so true. We can handle every season in our lives with the help of Jesus Christ .

    Reply

  2. Elizabeth
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 21:34:00

    Yes, I so agree with you here!… Hi, I’m a new follower from the UBP13! Your blogs is awesome! I’m a new blogger and hope you’ll come by and follow me at mybutterflyhaus.blogspot.com! Have a blessed day!

    Reply

  3. self sagacity
    Apr 10, 2013 @ 21:35:54

    Coming from UBP. Wow, those things are annoying when we get them around dinner time. Smiles. Swing by and check-out SelfSagacity.com when you get a chance.

    Reply

  4. Parentwin
    Apr 13, 2013 @ 09:56:29

    You’re blog is so beautiful! I’m following you via GFC now, and I’m not sure if you’ll be into my page (we’re not religious right now…lapsed Catholics), but come by and see what you think! http://www.parentwin.com/2013/04/ultimate-blog-party-2013.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 197 other followers

