She Will Not Win!

she will not winAs I type this, my 6 year old daughter is in her bed crying her eyes out and has been for a while.  She is upset with me because I am requiring her to go to bed as soon as she is done with dinner.  All I wanted for her to do was to complete her homework with the least amount of drama as possible.  Instead, she opted to cry the entire time and be difficult.  I decided she would have an early bed time tonight.  She has jumped, rolled, and collapsed while screaming she doesn’t like going to bed early.  As any parent knows, this can be killer on the nerves.  What she didn’t know is just this past Saturday I decided I was going to be happy in 2013.  The devil isn’t getting any more of my time.  Well sure enough tonight I was tempted to be unhappy, mad, angry, and downright mean.  Guess what I decided to do instead?  I decided to worship.  I’ve always heard people say worship instead of worry and press your way on through.  All of which are true, but hard to do in the middle of a moment of frustration.  I decided today would be a good day to put it into action.  As she cried (screamed really), I began to sing “Bless the Lord oh my soul, oh my soul.  Worship His holy name.  Sing like never before, oh my soul.  I’ll worship His holy name.  Oh, I will worship His holy name!”

I would love to say she calmed down, and we hugged.  We didn’t!  She actually got madder than ever, but I continued to softly sing my song.  I was amazed at how calming it was to my own nerves.  She will still be going to bed early, but now I don’t have to be stressed out.  That is one less gray hair I have to deal with right now!  Click below to enjoy the worship song in case you need one in the near future!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. april
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 19:29:31

    LOVE THAT SONG, and Charity said you were a blessing.. and Prayers for your family…

    Reply

  2. DeLonda
    Jan 10, 2013 @ 11:46:05

    NO need for medications or alcohol but just worship! AMEN!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 197 other followers

